The Bucket List

15 03 2009

I think I’ve just found one of my new favourite films.  The Bucket List, starring Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson.

A bucket list, as was explained to me this evening by the lovely Shelly and Justin, is a list of things you want to do before you die a.k.a. “kick the bucket”.

The film centres around two characters who have been diagnosed with Cancer and have a limited time to live.  Admittedly this made it a little too close to home for me to watch, so I have to confess I was a little teary right from the start.  That didn’t stop, I cried throughout, something I’d rarely ever confess to, but I will this time.  Life as was so plainly depicted, really is too short.

Now, having said I cried, I also laughed.  In fact, I laughed so hard, I cried again.  I laughed loud, I laughed hard, and I cried from it, as did the others watching it with me.  One could go so far as saying we were all sodden and dehydrated by the end of the movie, but I’d happily watch it again, and again.

While I’m not going to give anything away as to the plot, I can happily recommend it, and can offer this, as far as films go on such subjects as cancer and death, it never once, in my opinion became trite, and candidly addressed emotions that would be realistic to the situation.

Quite frankly, I LOVED IT!

That aside, it’s been a big day.  We were up at 5am this morning, and bundled up in our warmest clothes to drive into Seattle with the lovely Lisa, she drove, to see the previously mentioned Justin and Shelly participate in the St Patricks Day run in Seattle.  They ran hard, they ran well, they even ran in snow!

It was DAMN cold!   But it was fun.

Now it’s time to call the weekend over, and settle in for the evening!

Hooroo! 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

