Getting the chop

22 07 2009

There’s still a whole lot of not much going on here, although I did spend a large portion of yesterday going through the mound of boxes in the garage.  It’s a bit like a treasure hunt, you just never know what you’re going to find.

Yesterday, I found all manner of bizarre items hidden in boxes they didn’t belong in, such as framed photos and certificates with a garden saw…  The people who packed when we moved really had no idea, unfortunately it’s too late for us to do anything about it now.

Of course once I found my saw, I immediately got it into my head that I need to prune the trees in the front yard.  Much like my Dad, prune means Bonsai, or at least a slight butchering.  So now all the trees in the front have had their lower limbs removed so that I can mow under them without losing an eye.  Pedestrians can now use the footpath without “going jungle”, and any branch even remotely near the house or guttering has been removed.

Tomorrow I’ll do something similar in the backyard.  The tricky part will be getting rid of it all, right now it’s all been piled on the front lawn, which is already dead at the moment, so I’m not too worried about the grass dying.

Perhaps I’ll call a service that removes yard rubbish.  Yes, that seems most appropriate.

Other than that, I’m sore, I’m tired, and I have another hideously early start tomorrow for Mountain Conditioning at the gym.  Something I’m not looking forward to, but there’s only three classes left, so I guess I’ll just suck it up and go.

Actions

Information

One response

23 07 2009
Gary A

Interesting, isn’t it? You put an old monitor or gas lift chair on the front lawn and it’s gone within an hour. You put out perfectly mulchable branches and no-one wants them!! Go figure ….

Leave a Reply

