Welcome aboard Jack!

28 03 2008

The whole blogging in different time zones is really starting to mess with my mind.  I’m getting a little confused.

But I’ll live.

Anyway, today was the day that I officially became an Uncle to my sisters new baby boy Jack.  Mother and baby are doing well, which is always the most important part.

So it’s understandable that I’m a little tired today.  I’d left my family under strict instructions to phone me regardless of what time to let me know when my sister had given birth, and they did, about 3.30am this morning.  Of course I was so excited I didn’t get to sleep again until almost 7am this morning.  Oops.

So when we finally did wake up and hit the road it was quite late.

Today saw us heading off to the Tate Modern to check out all the International modern and contemporary art.  It was all kind of interesting, but I have to admit I’m not a huge fan of modern art.  I enjoy the more classical pieces, but it was interesting all the same.

It does strike me as being a little ridiculous that someone can paint a canvas square black, frame it, and then have it hung in a gallery.  But what do I know.  One of the cooler, comedic items was a large metal cable which had been threaded from floor to sealing with used pieces of soap.  I can’t remember what it’s real name was, but we, and another lady quickly dubbed it “Soap on a Rope”. 😉

Keeping that in mind, it was kind of amusing to go into another room of the gallery, and see a wall with l-shaped brackets on it in a row, and some hanging cables.  Mark instantly commented on how bizarre this installation was.  I just laughed and pointed to the sign that said “Art has been temporarily removed”.  He was looking at the mounting brackets.  Duh!  But, given what we’d seen already, it was entirely possible that those brackets were the art.
Especially as one other piece was a single green fluorescent bulb hung diagonally on the wall by itself…
Each to their own.  It wasn’t all bad though, the actual building itself, was fantastic.

We left Tate to walk to our next destination in the rain, until today the weather has been pretty great.  A quick stop for lunch and then a train ride and we were at the Marble Arch near Hyde Park where we took a stack of photos, then across the road to Wellington Arch, where we climbed to the top for some scenic photos of the area, then back down to check out the Australian War Memorial.

From there it was off to the British Museum for a very quick circuit of the displays, snapping photographs off madly to allow us time to get back to the Hotel.

The only real issue for us right now is a concern in relation to the new Heathrow Terminal 5, which opened yesterday.  Over 70 flights have been canceled, lifts failed, luggage lost or not passed through to connections.  Why are we concerned?  Well, 6 days from now we’ll be flying back from France into Heathrow Terminal 5 to get a connecting flight home to Australia.  We can’t afford to lose our luggage or miss our flights.  Keep your fingers crossed for us.

Well that’s it for now, it’s late, I’m tired, and I think I’m going to get some shuteye.

I’ve still not had that Snickers yet either, but I live in hope.  LOL!

Nighters!





I’m an Uncle!

28 03 2008

It’s obscenely early in the morning over here in London, but as of 2:08pm on Friday 28th March 2008 in Melbourne, my sister gave birth to a little baby boy. The new mother and baby are doing well.

It’s so early right now that he’s not even been weighed.

Congratulations Kate and Trevor on your first child, and Congratulations Mum and Dad on your first grandchild.

To say I’m excited would be this years understatement!

***So,13 years have passed that baby became a teenager today.

Happy Birthday Jack!