Miscommunication

3 05 2007

What a day!  Everything started a little later than usual today, so by the time I got to the gym it was almost 10am, and after midday by the time I left.

Usually I’m only there for just over an hour, but today I got caught up watching Ellen Degeneres on television while I was slogging along on the treadmill.  I’ve never watched her before, but from what I saw briefly, she was hosting her show from a hospital bed, so I had to tune my iPod to the television band to find out what was going on.  Essentially, she’d hurt her back, was shanked up to the eyeballs on painkillers and still hosting her show, it certainly made for some pretty hilarious viewing.  It passed the time too, by the time I’d finished watching I’d killed over an hour on the treadmill.

To back track just a little, before I start a workout, and once I’ve completed, I have my blood pressure taken, and record the results in a “tracker” that I’m using as part of the 20/20 Lifestyle Program that I’m doing.  Generally everyday the same person takes my blood pressure, and I’d be lying if I said I haven’t formed a bit of a crush.  Enough that I’m sure my blood pressure is slightly higher than it really is, just through vicinity.

It’s platonic, but again, like Ellen (only better) it makes the whole “gym experience” that much more enjoyable.  Besides he’s a great guy, and we get along pretty well, he’s an unending thirst for all forms of knowledge on things Australian, and I get hints and tips on the area we live in and things I can try at the gym.

Today’s session ended with the usual blood pressure reading, and conversation, in which he asked me how my workout was, to which I replied “brilliant, I’m knackered now”.

The look on his face was priceless, and to his credit, he didn’t blush, or batt an eyelid when he asked me if I actually said “I’m naked now”…

(No.. but if you asked… KIDDING! well, a little…)

The combination of my accent and my use of slang had him completely stumped as to what I was actually trying to say, things were made slightly clearer once I actually said “naked” then “knackered” to give him room for comparison.  *laugh*

Who said going to the gym couldn’t be fun or entertaining.  It does make a nice change to see attractive people, especially given the last few times I’ve been to the gym there’s been a naked unattractive person (different every time…  I’m so lucky! NOT!) standing next to, or in front of my locker.

For god’s sake people, put some clothes on, or back the hell away from my locker when I’m trying to get my things.  Oh, and if you drop something…  BEND YOUR F*CKING KNEES when you pick it up!  *retch*

That’s me done, the day is almost over already, time flies when you’re having fun… 😉